Acupuncture Meridians

Chinese medicine suggests that good health requires a balance of forces in the body. Illnesses, pain and discomfort arise when the flow is blocked. The primary therapeutic intent of traditional acupuncture is to remove these blockages and restore the proper balance.

The acupuncturist inserts hair thin needles into the skin at acupuncture points distributed along meridians, or channels, along which the Qi flows. Points used may be local or distal to the site of the complaint.

WHO Standard International Acupuncture Nomenclature


The 14 Main Meridians:

lung meridian (LU)

large intestine meridian (LI)

stomach meridian (ST)

spleen meridian (SP)

heart meridian (HT)

small intestine meridian (SI)

bladder meridian (BL)

kidney meridian (KI)

pericardium meridian (PC)

triple energizer meridian (TE)

gallbladder meridian (GB)

liver meridian (LR)

governor vessel (GV)

conception vessel (CV)

Acupuncture Cannels

8 Extra Acupuncture Meridians

Quest for the Acupuncture Point – WHO Standardized Locations

Tim H. Tanaka, Ph.D.
Director, The Pacific Wellness Institute
Visiting Research Fellow, Acupuncture and Moxibustion Division, Tsukuba University of Technology

August 28 2008

Currently, each acupuncturist in North America may locate the same acupuncture points differently, depending on how and where they have been trained. The issue of these point discrepancies may be somewhat of a surprise not only for consumers but also for many acupuncturists and students. The “acupuncture point”, which is supposed to be the most fundamental aspect of this ancient medical treatment, has not been standardized.  Read more…